Nina Peacock elected as first female President of CEEREAL

CEEREAL members elected Nina Peacock, Head of Public Policy and Government relations at Kellogg Europe, as President of CEEREAL for a two-year mandate starting on 1 January 2021. A Belgian and Canadian citizen, she will take the helm as CEEREAL’s first female President and first President under 40.

Ms Peacock, who previously served in CEEREAL’s Board of Directors, succeeds John Athanatos who led CEEREAL for four years after having been CEEREAL’s Vice President for three years. She joined Kellogg in 2019, having developed her professional career at Landmark Public Affairs where she gained extensive experience in EU food and sustainability policies.

“I am honoured to be elected to this position, and I thank the National Associations and Company Members for their trust,” she said. “CEEREAL plays an essential role in uniting breakfast cereal producers of all sizes and nationalities across Europe around common objectives. I look forward to engaging collaboratively with CEEREAL members and stakeholders on the important contribution that breakfast cereals make as a convenient, nutritious breakfastOur industry has accomplished a great deal during John’s tenure as President, and I look forward to building on his success. 

“We are very pleased to welcome Nina as CEEREAL President,” said Alexander Jess, CEEREAL Director General. “Her deep knowledge in European public affairs paired with her experience in our industry will be of great benefit to our industry.”

More than 1.2 million tonnes of breakfast cereals are produced in the EU each year[i]. The breakfast cereal industry in Europe is worth approximately €6 billion and includes more than 75 companies employing over 18,000 people.

CEEREAL also announced the election of Jochen Brüggen as its Vice President. Mr. Brüggen is owner and managing director of the breakfast cereal producer and oat miller H. & J. Brüggen KG. Members of the new CEEREAL Board also include: Ece Nevra Durukan (Cereal Partners Worldwide), Gharry Eccles (British Association), Peter Haarbeck (German Association), Niklas Kumlin (Helsinki Mills) and Jorge de Saja (Spanish Association).

The press release is available here.

Scroll to Top